Home

So here are my day late MLB predictions for each team. The total number of wins and losses adds up to 4860. It was a good exercise to make sure I am not too optimistic on every team or too pessimistic. It forces me to make logical decisions such as I cannot give the Red Sox 100 wins without taking wins away from another team. That is probably why I do NOT have a 100 game winner.  But I also think the only team capable of winning 100 games is the Red Sox but they are in, by far, the toughest division. So I think that is worth at least 5 more losses because of the teams they have to face in their division.

 Division Predictions:
NL East: Braves 91-71, Phillies 90-72*, Nationals 81-81, Marlins 78-84, Mets 69-93
NL Central: Reds 86-76, Brewers 84-78, Cardinals 84-78, Astros 83-79, Cubs 73-89, Pirates 61-101
NL West: Rockies 86-76, Dodgers 85-77, Giants 84-78, D-backs 81-81, Padres 77-85
AL East: Red Sox 95-67, Yankees 89-73*, Rays 85-77, Orioles 80-82, Blue Jays 75-87
AL Central: Tigers 90-72, White Sox 88-74, Twins 87-75, Royals 70-92, Indians 60-102
AL West: Angels 87-75, Rangers 84-78, A’s 83-79, Mariners 65-97
* =Wild Card
            No, I do not have either of last year’s Series participants in the playoffs this year.  I think the Giants will have somewhat of a regression. Their defense is going to be absolutely horrendous, even with Pablo improving. I obviously like Buster Posey but I am not sure they will be able to lean on him as much as they did last year and while I really like Brandon Belt, he is a rookie and is going to have some growing pains. Now for the Rangers, they lost Cliff Lee which is bad enough but I expect regression from CJ Wilson and Colby Lewis. If that happens, they have a terrible starting staff. Maybe they should have given Feliz a whirl as a starter?
Playoffs:
Reds over Braves
Phillies over Rockies
Red Sox over Angels
Tigers over Yankees
Phillies over Reds
Red Sox over Tigers
Phillies over Red Sox
            Yes, I know I was not very imaginative in my World Series match-up, but the only way I could possibly keep the Phillies rotation out of the Series is by keeping them out of the playoffs.  If those 4 pitchers make the postseason, there is no way they do not carry the team to the Series. I do see a scenario where the Phillies do not make the playoffs though because that offense is getting very old and the only above average hitter on it right now is Ryan Howard. I am worried about my Red Sox pick because of Beckett, Lackey and Bucholz. I think Beckett is done, his trending stats show that I am most likely right. Lackey could have a bounce back year but if he does not, they may be in trouble because… Bucholz was pretty lucky last year. I would expect his ERA to jump to maybe a full run higher. If that happened, maybe the Red Sox falter. However, I believe in Lester, A-Gon, Youk, Crawford and Pedroia.
Awards:
NL MVP: Joey Votto
AL MVP: Miguel Cabrera
NL Cy Young: Clayton Kershaw
AL Cy Young: Justin Verlander
NL Rookie of the Year: Brandon Belt
AL Rookie of the Year: Tsuyoshi Nishioka
Leave a Reply

